The clock is ticking: we’re closing in on Prince Harry and Meghan Markle’s royal wedding.

An event so many of the country’s eyes will feverishly turn to, but how? As is the tradition with major royal events, expect some intensive television coverage from Windsor Castle when the nuptials take place on Saturday, 19 May. 

Though the ceremony, taking place at St. George’s Chapel in Windsor, will commence at 12pm and close around 1pm, there’ll still be hours of coverage before to track the build in anticipation. 

The wedding and procession will be televised, with UK viewers able to watch the coverage on the BBC, Sky News, and ITV. 

The BBC’s broadcast will be anchored by Huw Edwards, Kirsty Young, and Dermot O’Leary; Young and O’Leary will cover the build-up from Saturday morning from around Windsor Castle’s moat, while Edwards will present from the roof of the Windsor Guard Room. 

The One Show‘s Alex Jones and Ore Oduba will also act as roaming reporters, capturing the excitement from the gathered crowds. The BBC has further announced that a television licence will not be required to watch the coverage, allowing the event to be screened at community events and street parties. 

ITV’s coverage will be presented by Phillip Schofield and Julie Etchingham, broadcasting from a purpose-built studio in Windsor. Sky News will also be broadcasting live from Windsor itself. 

However, one portion of the day that won’t be screened for the public is the wedding’s two receptions, which are for private guests only. 

royal-wedding-merchandise.jpg

The service is to be conducted by the Dean of Windsor and officiated by The Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby. 

For viewers in the US, footage will air on CBS’ This Morning, which starts at 4:00 EST (1:00 PT). NBC is taking its entire The Today Show team to Windsor to commence coverage at 4.30 EST (1:30 PT), while ABC News and Good Morning America will both start coverage 5:00 EST (2:00 PT). 

BBC America will broadcast a live simulcast of BBC One’s coverage from 4:15 EST (1:15 PT), while HBO starts coverage much later at 7:15 EST (4:30 PT). Over 200 cinema screenings of the ceremony will also take place at 10am local time, screening ITV’s broadcast several hours after the ceremony takes place. 

royal-wedding-father-aisle.jpg

The ceremony itself will start at 7:00 EST (04:00 PT).

The ceremony will also be streamed on several online services: UK viewers with a TV licence can watch either BBC iPlayer or ITV Hub, while US viewers can watch CBSN Live and ABC News. 

*Follow Independent Culture on Facebook for all the latest on Film, TV, Music, and more.*

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here